Microsoft SharePoint 2013:Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library

From PlexHosted Knowledgebase
Jump to: navigation, search
Dedicated SharePoint Hosting Services at PlexHosted

Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library

You can delete a list or library that is no longer used and required, or if it has been created by mistake. When you delete a list or a library, all folders documents and items will also be deleted. Please note that you need to have sufficient permissions for the list or library you are going to delete or on the site. Users with Contribute permissions cannot delete lists or libraries.
Deleted lists and libraries are stored in the site Recycle Bin by default for 30 days, so you can restore them if any list or library has been deleted accidentally.

Deleting a list or a library

  1. In this example we are going to delete a library. Navigate to the library you would like to delete.
  2. Go to the Library Settings page.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-1.png
  3. On the Library Settings page click Delete this library.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-2.png
  4. Click OK in the confirmation message.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-3.png
  5. Now you can see that this library has been deleted.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-4.png

Restoring a list or a library

  1. In this example we are going to restore the library deleted in the previous section. Click on Site Contents from the Quick Launch or click on the gear button and choose it from the menu.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-5.png
  2. On the Site Contents page click on Recycle Bin.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-6.png
  3. On the Recycle Bin page choose the library you need to restore and click on Restore Selection.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-7.png
  4. Click OK in the confirmation message.
  5. Now you can see that the deleted library has been successfully restored.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-8.png


Note that the navigation links on the Quick Launch will not be restored. You will need to re-add them.
If a list or library has been deleted from the site Recycle Bin, it will still reside in the Site Collection Recycle Bin where Site Collection administrator can restore it. It will be stored there for 30 days by default and then permanently deleted.

Restoring a library from the Site Collection Recycle Bin

  1. Navigate to the top level site. Please note that you need to have administrative permissions for the site collection.
  2. On the top level site click on the gear button and choose Site Settings.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-9.png
  3. On the Site Settings page go to Recycle Bin under the Site Collection Administration.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-10.png
  4. On the Recycle Bin page you can see the End user Recycle Bin items page that contains all the items deleted from sites and a link to Deleted from end user Recycle Bin page. Click on this link.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-11.png
  5. On the Deleted from end user Recycle Bin page choose the list or library you need to restore and click on Restore Selection.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-12.png
  6. Now you can navigate you the site where this list or library has been originally located and verify that it has been successfully restored.
    Deleting and Recovering a List or a Library-8.png


For the details on how to delete and restore list items and library documents please refer to the following page – Delete and restore list items and documents